Diarmaid Murphy, GAA sponsorship manager, Valerie Hedin, External Communications Manager, Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, John Horan and Emma Moriarty, EirGrid sponsorship manager, at the announcement of the winners of the 2018 Moments in Time competition in Croke Park

Winners of the EirGrid Digital Clock and Scoreboard Competition revealed

03 October 2018

Ferns St. Aidan’s in Co Wexford, Tramore GAA in Co Waterford, Éire Óg GAA in Co Roscommon and St Brigid’s GAC from Co Antrim, have been announced as the winners of the 2018 EirGrid Digital Clock and Scoreboard competition. The winners were drawn at Croke Park by EirGrid External Communications Manager, Valerie Hedin and Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, John Horan.

This fantastic prize comprises the delivery and installation of a top-of-the-range, LED, digital clock and scoreboard with a radio-controlled handset to manage the score from anywhere in the ground. This will be an invaluable asset for all clubs.

This competition marks EirGrid’s continuing commitment to its GAA sponsorship portfolio.  As well as being the GAA’s first ever official timing sponsor, it has also sponsored the EirGrid GAA Football U20 All-Ireland Championship since 2015, the EirGrid International Rules Series in 2015 and the Irish International Rules team in 2017.

There were a total of 220 entries for this year’s digital clock and scoreboard competition. 80 entries came from Leinster, 64 from Munster, 48 from Connacht and 28 from Ulster.

Speaking at the digital clock and scoreboard draw, Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael John Horan said;

“Today’s draw brings to a close the fantastic competition that EirGrid has made available to our club network nationwide. EirGrid have provided our GAA clubs with a brilliant opportunity that has been reflected in the huge level of interest shown.

“This competition further underlines the great commitment we continue to receive from EirGrid which has been hugely supportive of the association through its sponsorship of the GAA Football U20 Championship, their involvement in International Rules and as our official GAA Timing sponsor.”

Valerie Hedin commented; “We were delighted by the huge number of entries to the competition and I’d like to thank all who entered. We hope these scoreboards will be of great benefit to GAA clubs around the country and further strengthen our ties with these communities.”